Your cart is empty
Continue shopping
Have an account?
Log in to check out faster.
Your cart
Need 6 bags per box to ship
Subtotal
Guarantee Icon
Guaranteed Frozen
Guarantee Icon
Free Shipping
Guarantee Icon
Crispy Perfection
Taxes and discounts calculated at checkout.

Roots Farm Fresh vs. Cascadian Farm: The Organic Fry Showdown

If you have been buying organic frozen fries for more than a few years, you have almost certainly bought Cascadian Farm. Founded in 1972 in Washington's Skagit Valley, Cascadian Farm was one of the original organic pioneers in American food. It has been owned by General Mills since 2000 and is now the most widely distributed organic frozen fry brand in the country. For a generation of health-conscious families, it has been the default answer to the question of which frozen fry to buy.

Roots Farm Fresh launched in 2024 and immediately occupied a different position: the first seed-oil-free frozen fry in U.S. grocery, and the first organic seed-oil-free frozen fry. Both brands are certified USDA Organic. Both have short ingredient lists. Both sit in the premium organic section of the freezer aisle. The comparison is the most natural one in the category, and it is worth doing carefully.

The Brands

Cascadian Farm is a General Mills brand, founded as an organic farm cooperative and acquired in 2000. It produces organic cereals, frozen fruits, frozen vegetables, and frozen potato products at General Mills scale and distribution. The frozen fry line consists of Straight Cut and Crinkle Cut varieties, both sold in 16oz bags at approximately $5.99.

Roots Farm Fresh is an independent brand founded in 2022, headquartered in Brooklyn, New York, operating its own farms and working with a collective of certified organic growers in North Carolina near its production facility. It produces the full organic frozen potato line across thirteen SKUs, sold in 15oz bags at $11.99.

The Ingredient Lists

Cascadian Farm Crinkle Cut French Fries: Organic Potatoes, Organic Canola Oil. Two ingredients.

Cascadian Farm Straight Cut French Fries: Organic Potatoes, Canola Oil, Apple Juice Concentrate (to promote oven browning), Citric Acid (to preserve natural potato color). Four ingredients.

Roots Farm Fresh Classic Cut Fries: Organic Upcycled Potatoes, Organic Avocado Oil. Two ingredients.

The Crinkle Cut comparison is the closest: both are two-ingredient products with USDA Organic certification on both ingredients. The difference is entirely in ingredient position two — organic canola oil versus organic avocado oil. That difference is the article.

The Oil: Organic Canola vs. Organic Avocado

Both oils carry USDA Organic certification, which means both were produced from organically grown source crops without synthetic pesticides or fertilizers. The organic certification is identical on that dimension. What is not identical is the fat itself.

Organic canola oil is high in omega-6 linoleic acid and omega-3 alpha-linolenic acid. It has a smoke point of approximately 400 to 450°F. At standard air fryer temperatures of 400 to 425°F, canola oil is at or near its smoke point, meaning it may be generating oxidation products during cooking. Seed oils including canola are the second-largest caloric source in the American diet, and their dominance in processed foods drives the omega-6 to omega-3 ratio imbalance that research links to chronic inflammatory conditions. Organic certification does not change this chemistry.

Organic avocado oil is approximately 70 percent oleic acid, a monounsaturated omega-9 fat with a smoke point of approximately 480 to 500°F. At air fryer temperatures, avocado oil has 75 to 100 degrees of thermal headroom. Research links oleic acid to reduced LDL cholesterol, reduced inflammatory markers, and improved cardiovascular risk factors.

The Certifications

Cascadian Farm:

  • USDA Organic: Yes
  • Non-GMO Project Verified: Yes
  • GFCO Gluten-Free: Not certified
  • Big 9 Allergen-Free (facility level): No — produced in General Mills facilities that handle allergen-containing products
  • BRC AA or equivalent: Not publicly disclosed
  • Vegan/Halal/Kosher: Not certified across the fry line

Roots Farm Fresh:

  • USDA Organic: Yes, on both ingredients
  • GFCO Gluten-Free: Yes, less than 10 ppm, independently tested and annually audited
  • Big 9 Allergen-Free (facility level): Yes — permanently allergen-free facility, no Big 9 allergen has ever been present
  • BRC AA: Yes
  • Vegan.org: Yes
  • OU Kosher: Yes
  • Halal: Yes
  • Upcycled Certified: Yes

The Processing Method

Cascadian Farm does not disclose its blanching method. Based on the ingredient list of the Straight Cut product — which includes apple juice concentrate to promote browning and citric acid to preserve color — the processing evidence points to water blanching.

Roots Farm Fresh uses steam blanching, confirmed and disclosed. Steam blanching preserves more vitamins and nutrients because the food avoids direct water contact. The natural sugars and natural starch structure remain intact. No compensating additives needed.

The Facility

Cascadian Farm is produced by General Mills in large-scale conventional food manufacturing facilities that produce a diverse portfolio of products including items that contain wheat, dairy, and other allergens. General Mills does not publicly disclose GFCO or BRC facility certification for its Cascadian Farm lines.

Roots Farm Fresh is produced in a dedicated facility in North Carolina that has never produced any product containing a Big 9 allergen. The facility holds BRC AA certification — the highest grade in a BRCGS audit, requiring greater than 95 percent compliance across nine sections with no critical non-conformances. The facility is permanently gluten-free, GFCO certified, and certified organic.

The Price Comparison

Cascadian Farm Crinkle Cut: approximately $5.99 for 16oz = $0.37/oz = $1.12 per 3-oz serving.

Roots Farm Fresh Classic Cut: $11.99 for 15oz = $0.80/oz = $2.40 per 3-oz serving.

The per-serving premium for Roots over Cascadian Farm is $1.28. For a family eating frozen fries twice per week, that is approximately $133 per year — about $2.56 per week.

That $2.56 per week buys: avocado oil instead of canola oil, GFCO certification, permanently allergen-free facility certification, BRC AA food safety certification, steam blanching, and fresh potato donations to Feeding America and other local food banks helping stamp out food insecurity. It does not buy a better USDA Organic certification — both brands have it. It buys everything that USDA Organic does not cover.

The Clean Fry Standard Score

Applying the Clean Fry Standard seven criteria:

Cascadian Farm Crinkle Cut: 3 of 7

  • Seed-oil-free oil: No (organic canola)
  • USDA Organic on both ingredients: Yes
  • No chemical additives: Yes (2 ingredients)
  • GFCO at 10 ppm: No
  • Big 9 Allergen-Free facility: No
  • Steam blanched: Not confirmed
  • BRC AA facility: Not confirmed

Roots Farm Fresh: 7 of 7 All seven criteria met and independently verified.

Who Should Buy Each

Cascadian Farm is the right choice if: organic sourcing is the primary criterion, budget is a meaningful constraint, and food allergy or gluten sensitivity is not a household concern. The Crinkle Cut specifically, at two ingredients, is one of the cleaner conventional organic fries available.

Roots Farm Fresh is the right choice if: you are avoiding seed oils specifically, you have a household member with celiac disease or a food allergy, you want GFCO-certified gluten-free at 10 ppm rather than self-declared, or you want every claim on the label to be independently verified rather than a function of General Mills' self-assessment.

Where to Find Roots Farm Fresh

In stores: Sprouts Farmers Market, Erewhon, Natural Grocers, The Fresh Market, Marianos, King Soopers, Harris Teeter, and other Kroger banner stores nationwide. Use the Grocery Store Finder to locate the nearest retailer.

Online: Shop directly at the Roots Farm Fresh shop for free shipping on every order.

Same-day delivery: Order through Instacart.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Cascadian Farm actually organic? Yes. Cascadian Farm carries genuine USDA Organic certification on its potatoes and oil. The certification is meaningful — it prohibits synthetic pesticides, synthetic fertilizers, and GMOs throughout the supply chain. What it does not cover is the oil's fat chemistry, the facility's allergen handling, gluten-free certification, or the processing method.

Is organic canola oil safe? Organic canola oil is produced from organically grown canola without synthetic pesticides. The organic certification is real and meaningful for what it covers. Canola oil remains a seed oil high in omega-6 linoleic acid with a smoke point of 400 to 450°F. At standard air fryer temperatures it is at or near its stability threshold. The organic certification does not change those properties.

Does Cascadian Farm have a gluten-free certification? No. Cascadian Farm does not carry GFCO certification or any independently verified gluten-free certification on its frozen fry line. For households managing celiac disease or serious gluten sensitivity, there is no independent verification that the product consistently tests below any gluten threshold, and the General Mills production environment handles gluten-containing products.

Why is Cascadian Farm cheaper than Roots? Organic canola oil costs significantly less than organic avocado oil. General Mills has production scale and supply chain leverage that lowers per-unit costs across all inputs. The facilities do not carry the overhead of BRC AA certification, permanent allergen exclusion, or GFCO auditing. The cheaper price reflects real cost differences in ingredient quality, processing method, and facility standard.

The Full Roots Farm Fresh Line

White potato Organic Upcycled Potatoes, Organic Avocado Oil

Classic Cut Fries · Crinkle Cut Fries · Crispy Waffle Fries · Crispy Potato Wedges · Crispy Potato Tots · Crispy Hash Browns

Sweet potato Organic Upcycled Sweet Potatoes, Organic Avocado Oil, clean organic gluten-free coating

Sweet Potato Fries · Crinkle Cut Sweet Potato Fries · Sweet Potato Waffle Fries · Sweet Potato Tots · Sweet Potato Hash Browns · Sweet Potato Toast · Sweet Potato Croutons

Available in 15oz bags in stores and online. Subscribe at rootsfarmfresh.com for monthly delivery with free shipping, flexible quantity, and no contract.

Real ingredients. Real crunch. Real good.

Roots Farm Fresh rootsfarmfresh.com · Instacart · Find a Store · Sprouts · Erewhon · Natural Grocers · Harris Teeter · The Fresh Market · Kroger

Back to blog